Thursday, 18 December 2014

Our Favourite Records of 2014


Top 11 (In no particular order - excluding bias of Hosehead releases which are all top 11s)

- Wipers - Nome Noma 7” (Meanbean) (Reissue)
- Barreracudas – Promises, Promises 7” (Oops Baby)
- Sam Coffey & Iron Lungs – Gates of Hell LP (Southpaw)
- Teledrome – Self Titled LP (Mammoth Cave)
- Sugar Stems – Only Come Out At Night (Dirtnap)
- Needles//Pins – Shamebirds LP (Dirt Cult)
- Zex – Savage City 7” (Electric Assault)
- New Swears – Junkfood Forever, Bedtime Whatever LP (Bachelor)
- Shivvers – Self Titled LP (Sing Sing) (Reissue – kind of)
- Mother’s Children – Lemon LP (Taken by Surprise/Mammoth Cave)
- The Number Ones - The Number Ones (Deranged)

Honourable mentions:
- Steve Adamyk Band – Dialtone LP (Dirtnap)
- X – Aspirations LP (Ugly Pop)
- Real Kids – Shake…Outta Control LP (Ugly Pop)


- Alvvays – Alvvays (Royal Mountain)
- Needles//Pins – Shamebirds (Dirt Cult)
- Sam Coffey and the Iron Lungs – Gates Of Hell (Southpaw)
- Sonic Avenues – Mistakes (Dirtnap)
- Steve Adamyk Band – Dialtone (Dirtnap)
- The Flintettes – Open Your Eyes 7″ (La-Ti-Da)
- The Mandates – Suspicion 7″ (Teenage Rampage)
- The Number Ones - The Number Ones (Deranged)
- The Shivvers – The Shivvers (Sing Sing)
- The Wipers – Nome Noma 7″ (Meanbean)
- Thor’s Hammer – If You Knew: Icelandic Punk & Beat ’65-67! (Ugly Pop)

Saturday, 13 December 2014

2015 Releases

I just realized it's been almost 6 months since our last 7" came out, so we should probably release something new. How about 4 things?

First Base - You've Got A Hold On Me 7"

HHR001 was our First Base tape, so we're happy to finally put out a follow up from them. This band famously features Mike from the legendary Hosehead Records. Since then they've released an LP on the not as legendary Chicago label Hozac Records, which was an international superhit. 4 songs, out early 2015.

Listen here

Fashionism - Smash The State (With Your Face) 7"

Debut 7" from this new Vancouver band featuring Jeffrey McCloy of Tranzmitors. They're new, but they've already cut their teeth playing shows with The Briefs and OBN IIIs, among others. 3 songs of power pop perfection, out early 2015.

Listen here

Nervous Talk - Nervous Talk LP

Debut LP from these Vancouver punks. Follow up to their 7" on Mammoth Cave in 2013. Featuring members of Moby Dicks, The Ballantynes, Shitty Neighbours, and more. 10 tracks, out Spring 2015.

Listen here

The Moderns - Year Of Today 7" (Reissue)

First ever release under the Hosehead Reissues moniker, and it's a doozy. Originally self released by The Moderns in 1979, this four-song 7" is one of the most important power pop records ever recorded. We're beyond excited to give it a North American press for the first time in the 35 years since it originally came out. Out mid 2015.

Do your homework, listen here.