Monday, 14 April 2014

All Quiet on the Northern Front

We've been relatively quiet since the Average Times LP came out last month. We're hard at work on our next four (!) releases. We're hoping to get at least the next three out before the end of the year. The first one is due out this June/July, so keep your ear to the ground for that one. We're working with two bands we never have before and three Hosehead staples - one of which was on a very early HHR release!

Next month is our three year anniversary. Maybe we'll do something cool for that (but probably not).

We still have a very small number of Average Times LPs in the webstore, and we're running low of t-shirts.

Tuesday, 4 March 2014

Average Times LP on sale now

Average Times LPs have now been added to the webstore. Orders are shipping this week - peach coloured vinyl while supplies last. 

Sunday, 2 March 2014

Average Times LP on sale this Tuesday at noon

Average Times LPs are in hand now and will be added to the store at noon EST on Tuesday, March 4th. 

Only 30 copies of the peach-coloured LP are being sold. The rest will be available at the Toronto (March 21st) and Ottawa (March 22nd) release shows. 

All LPs comes with a free digital download code, and any Hosehead buttons and stickers that are around while I pack. 

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

Hosehead Tshirts

We're now sold out of small and medium 45 label shirts, and are running low on large and XL. We will have all sizes available to order again on March 4th. You can save a few bucks by buying a shirt and the Average Times LP together!

Thursday, 23 January 2014

Average Times - S/T LP out March 4th, 2014 + Hosehead t-shirts

We're extremely happy to announce that we'll be releasing the debut LP by Ottawa punks Average Times on March 4th! LP co-released by Germany's P Trash Records. First 50 sold are on colour vinyl. 


And watch a music video here: 

We've also got our classic 45 label t-shirt for sale in the Hosehead Store. We didn't make too many of them though, so jump on one now if you're into

Monday, 20 January 2014

Saturday, 7 December 2013

Best of 2013

Hosehead class of 2013:

Favourites of 2013:
Patrick McKenzie:
Top LPs
1. TV Freaks - Two (Schizophrenic)
2. First Base - S/T (Hozac)
3. Tough Age - S/T (Mint)
4. New Swears - Funny Isn't Real (Dirt Cult/Bachelor)
5. Bad Sports - Bras (Dirtnap)
6. Ketamines - You Can't Serve Two Masters (Mammoth Cave)
7. Pink Wine - Untitled (P. Trash)
8. Steve Adamyk Band - Third (Dirtnap)
9. The Mandates - S/T (Mammoth Cave)
10. Radioactivity - S/T (Dirtnap)

Also the new Lemuria LP and Primitive Hearts LP. Lots of good 2013 stuff!

Top 7"s
1. Nervous Talk - Introductions (Mammoth Cave)
2. The #1s - Sharon Shouldn't (Alien Snatch/Sorry State)
3. Needles//Pins - Outta This Place (La-Ti-Da)
4. David Quinton/Stiv Bators - Make Up Your Mind (Ugly Pop)*
5. Ketamines - All The Colours Of Your Heart (Pleasence)
6. The Ballantynes - Faith/Velvet (La-Ti-Da)
7. Feral Trash - Dead Eyes (Dirt Cult)
8. The Novice - S/T (Dirtnap)
9. Crusades - Parables (Its Alive)
10. Night Birds - Maimed For The Masses (Fat)

Mike McKenzie:

Top 15 LP's of 2013 (No particular order)
Bad Sports - Bras (Dirtnap) Pink Wine - Self Titled (P-Trash) The Tunes - Love Uncool (Cheap Rewards) * Radioactivity - Radioactivity (Dirtnap) Jook - Jook Rule O.K. (Sing Sing) * Heavy Times - Fix It Alone (Hozac) TV Freaks - Two (Schizophrenic) Steve Adamyk - Third (Dirtnap) Zebrassieres - I Am A Human (P Trash) New Swears - Funny Isn't Real (Bachelor/Dirt Cult) DEVO - Hardcore Volume 1 (Superior Viaduct) * DEVO - Hardcore Volume 2 (Superior Viaduct) * Primitive Hearts - High & Tight (FDH/Ressurection/P Trash) Nobunny - Secret Songs (Goner Records)
Top 10 7"s of 2013 (No particular order)
The #1s - Sharon Shouldn't (Alien Snatch/Sorry State) Pointed Sticks - What Do You Want Me To Do? (Ugly Pop) * Slushy - Pocket (Randy Records) Nervous Talk - Introductions (Mammoth Cave) Blitz - All Out Attack (Ugly Pop) * Brett Smiley - Va Va Voom (Sing Sing) * The Choosers - Hanging Up on You (Bachelor) Nobunny - Love Visions 7" Box Set (Almost Ready) * Video - Join the Hatewave (Total Punk) Zero Boys - Pro Dirt (1-2-3-4 Go!)
Honourable Mentions: Alvvays - Adult Diversion (Self Released) (Not a single, but it makes zero sense how this song wasn't released on the A side of a single) Zero Boys - Livin' In the 80's (1-2-3-4 Go!) * (Eat it collector scum! Back in print!)
* = Reissue